Wednesday, November 10, 2004

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Billy Joe Shaver, Guy Clark, Dennis Morgan and Freddie Hart have been inducted into the Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame.

Tom T. Hall gave Shaver's induction speech Sunday, and Kris Kristofferson joined Joe Ely to perform some of Shaver's classics, which include Good Christian Soldier, Old Five and Dimers Like Me, Honky Tonk Heroes and I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal. Shaver was moved to tears by the performance.

"Boy, it's been a rough road, but there've been a lot of happy times, too," he said.

Lyle Lovett and Verlon Thompson paid tribute to Clark by playing selections from his catalog, which includes L.A. Freeway, Desperadoes Waiting for a Train and Homegrown Tomatoes.

Keith Urban, Jessica Andrews, Marcel and James Slater honored Morgan, whose hits include
Sleepin' Single in a Double Bed, Smoky Mountain Rain and I Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool. T. Graham Brown performed Hart's Easy Lovin', while Freddy Weller, Jim Casey and Dickey Lee did other Hart songs, which include Bless Your Heart and Got the All Overs for You (All Over Me).

No comments: